Trinny in Jozi

Oh, the people you’ll meet

with 8 comments

Last night we went on a jolly at The Wharf. Swilling Bellinis at the swanky pool bar, I briefly imagined I was at the Venice Biennale* but the feeling didn’t last long because really, it was completely different.

We were there for the food. But it’s the people we met that I will remember.

1. James Martin. Very lovely chef from Yorkshire, who explained to me why Yorkshire pudding is called “pudding”. Incidentally, his father was the catering manager at Castle Howard, where Brideshead Revisited – the second-best television series ever** – was filmed.

2. A person from a rival company who offered me a job. “I’m leaving Dubai,” I said. “We’re looking for someone at the moment,” they said. “I’m leaving Dubai,” I said. “Name your price,” they said. “I’m leaving Dubai,” I said.

3. A fellow Rhodent (and journalist), who used to be a waitress at the Red Cafe (still the Blue Room to old school Grahamstonians), and recognised me from hanging out there.  She seems supercool, and I wish I’d met her earlier, so we could’ve been friends. What is it with leaving a place? She’s the third Rhodent I’ve met since I resigned.

4. A 16-year-old “business development consultant”. I kid you not. He had a business card and everything. He looked about twelve, and I thought he was full of shit. Then his mummy came and chatted to us as well and, bizarrely enough, backed up his story. I still thought he was full of shit.

It was a weird and wonderful evening. I’m not sad to be leaving though.

* Inspired by Geoff Dyer’s excellent Jeff in Venice, Death in Varanasi, in which the  characters drank Bellinis – copiously and constantly – at least in the first half of the novel.

** If you don’t know what the best best television series ever is, well, you should. Or you could ask me really nicely.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. why IS it called pudding?

    sounds like a memorable night – you are in demand all over the world!

    Kim

    November 19, 2009 at 00.07

  2. Kim stole my comment… I want to know too!

    Al

    November 19, 2009 at 13.36

  3. The ‘second best TV series ever’ !!!!!
    Surely the BEST?

    Mim

    November 20, 2009 at 13.46

  4. Why is it called pudding?
    I love (2).

    M-squeeze

    November 20, 2009 at 18.05

  5. And what is the best series? If it’s not Kath and Kim, I may judge you.

    M-squeeze

    November 20, 2009 at 18.06

  6. @Kim and @Al – Because it’s made of pudding batter? Or something like that, if I remember correctly…

    @Mim and @M-Squeeze – Kath and Kim is only the third best; Brideshead revisited the second best. The best best is The Wire.

    Trinny

    November 20, 2009 at 20.32

  7. Theresa!

    You are FORMALLY downgraded to 0.06!

    I am shocked and horrified!

    All those years of patronisation are now in vain.

    And to think… YOU were the one who introduced me to Brideshead!

    Today is a day of the gravest of sadnesses.

    Regards

    Al (the last bastion of 0.000000000000000000001).

    Al

    December 15, 2009 at 01.02

  8. Dear Al

    We can discuss this in a civilised fashion once you have watched at least the first season of The Wire.

    Best wishes
    Tea

    Trinny

    December 20, 2009 at 00.33


Leave a Reply

