Trinny in Jozi

The power of Twitter or, how I rediscovered David Foster Wallace

with 3 comments

Twitter has, consciously or not, been on my mind an awful lot over the past couple of days. Perhaps it´s because I´ve fallen for the #moonfruit promotion. Or because it´s the only social networking platform available at work. Whatever the cause, I ended up dreaming about @stephenfry last night, even though I hadn´t been following him. (Well, until this morning, when I realised I might as well. As well*.)

Anyway, in the face of several confirmed Twitter heathens, I decided to try to explain why I´m well on my way to becoming a Twitter addict. There´s not much too it, really, but there are two fellow tweeters who, more often than not, make my day. The first is @DrSamuelJohnson, who tweets about current affairs in the style of his namesake. He (?) regularly makes me laugh out loud, although you might not realise this, even if you´re sitting next to me, as I have perfected the art of laughing out loud, silently, inside my head.

The second is @BOOKSA, which keeps me up to date with the publications, musings and general banter of the South African literati. As well as their own contributions, @BOOKSA are adroit retweeters, which brings me to David Foster Wallace, and how an @BOOKSA retweet of an @KevBloom tweet, has led me to embark on the pleasures of an Infinite Summer.

“I know it´s hot in Dubai, but surely the heat isn´t infinite?” you may ask. You don´t know what I´m talking about, do you? I´ll admit I´m being obfuscatory, but then again, elucidation is merely a click away. Alternatively, you could wait until my next post…

* You can take the girl out of South Africa, but you can´t… blah, blah, blah, you know the rest.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hilarious! x

    M-Squeeze

    July 7, 2009 at 17.36

  2. Ah, but did you click on the link(s)?

    Trinny

    July 7, 2009 at 17.39

  3. […] pioneering hair sharing blog Not a baldy; and thirdly there´s the Infinite Summer project, which I alluded to in an earlier post, but haven´t yet had the time to engage fully with. Oh, and there´s another mini-project in […]


Leave a Reply

