Trinny in Jozi

Weather rant

with 7 comments

I am hot. Properly hot. Also, I am sick and tired of status updates and tweets by Brits complaining of the “heat”. So, upon reading the following yesterday, it was reassuring to discover that not everyone living in the UK has become a mentalist:

Hot Carla

Hats off to Carla who, quite sensibly, elects to keep her cardigan on. And well she might.

The following comparison between London and Dubai temperatures over the last month was sourced via Wolfram Alpha.

London
Current temperature: 24°C
Minimum: 9°C, June 8
Average: 17°C
Maximum: 28°C, June 28

Dubai
Current temperature: 40°C
Minimum: 26°C, June 5
Average: 35°C
Maximum: 46°C, July 2

“Not fair!” I hear the overheated British masses cry. “It´s been much hotter than 28°C here.” I´m not disputing that the data might be slightly on the conservative side, but this goes for the Dubai temperatures too. I´ll match your 32°C and raise you a 49°C.

Furthermore, I´d like to point out that the average, I repeat, average, temperature in Dubai over the past month has been hotter than the maximum level reached in London.

Personally, I think there´s been far too much whinging about the alleged UK “heatwave”. Enough already. Relish the mild sunlight that is currently shining down on you, and leave bitching about the heat to people who know what 40°C plus feels like. If I hear any more griping, I´m going to instruct my strongmen to track you down and klap you one, before confining you to a sauna for 48 hours. That is all.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My dear, you need to get annoyed more often. This was a wonderful post!

    M-squeeze

    July 5, 2009 at 16.10

  2. Thanks Squeeze!

    Trinny

    July 5, 2009 at 16.12

  3. I don’t know how anyone could ever complain about heat???

    Al

    July 6, 2009 at 13.46

  4. So you´re gonna visit me in August then, my dear?

    Trinny

    July 6, 2009 at 18.10

  5. […] know it´s hot in Dubai, but surely the heat isn´t infinite?” you may ask. You don´t know what I´m talking about, […]

  6. They actually said at one point in the news “do you know, it’s currently hotter here than it is in Bangkok!”

    Yes, I thought, but it’s the middle of the night in Bangkok, and monsoon season…

    Morons.

    Carla Lever

    July 9, 2009 at 00.27

  7. Hahaha!

    Trinny

    July 10, 2009 at 11.35


Leave a Reply

