Trinny in Jozi

Election fervour, or not…

with 6 comments

Was rather disappointed not to be able to vote on Wednesday, owing to my ID book´s propensity not to be in the same country as its owner.  I´ll have to leave it to the rest of you lot to cast your ballots wisely this coming week. 

But after I took the M&G´s poll predictor, I realised perhaps it was a good thing that I couldn´t have my say. According to the test, I should be voting for the DA or the IFP. Quite a shock to discover what I believe I believe isn´t actually what I do believe. The only fact I´m proud of is that I didn´t agree with the FFP on any of their policies. But then, who does?

At least COPE was my third option. And since it´s a proudly South African tradition not to consider policy when chosing for whom to vote, I reckon I would´ve stuck by them, cognitive dissonance be damned! Who are you voting for on Wednesday? Or is it a secret?

Written by Trinny

April 18, 2009 at 23.31

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Were you registered to vote? DHL does ID books…

    Al

    April 19, 2009 at 03.57

  2. Ja, I was registered. Faxed off the form and everything. But only realised I didn´t have it the evening before voting 😦

    Trinny

    April 19, 2009 at 18.07

  3. Cheer up, my third and fourth options were a tie between UDM and Freedom Front Plus!

    My top option was ID though, which is better 🙂

    M-Squeeze

    April 20, 2009 at 19.09

  4. That´s all right then. Happy voting on Wednesday!

    Trinny

    April 20, 2009 at 19.11

  5. But you told me months ago that you didn’t have your ID book and that you hadn’t registered last year. Use an emergency ticket and come back tomorrow for a day…

    Al

    April 21, 2009 at 00.33

  6. I can´t have told you that, cos it´s not true… Didn´t change my registration to Jozi, but was registered in Grahamstown, even checked last year. And faxed off my forms so I was registered in Dubai as well.

    And I definitely had my ID book before I left home, if only I´d thought to bring it with me!

    Unfortunately don´t have funds/time for emergency ticket, even if my ID book wasn´t buried in the depth of Mim and Pim´s storage somewhere (your house?).

    Vote for me tomorrow 😉

    Trinny

    April 21, 2009 at 22.37


Leave a Reply

