Trinny in Jozi

Free pizza, anyone?

with 7 comments

So, ja, I didn´t win big, or small, at the South African Blog Awards. In fact, if the results were announced in order of number of votes, I came last in my category. But thanks to those of you who voted for me anyway!

And now, I have a little reward. All nominees receive two free pizzas from Butler´s. Now, if it were two free pizzas from Diva, I might be tempted to hop on a plane, but as it is, I´m gonna share the cheese… Capetonians have until Thursday April 16 to submit their comments as to why I should give my prize to them. Most pizzalicious comment wins 😉

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey… I slaved at Butlers for many a year, coming home smelling like the cavernous ovens and (sadly for my waist line) never got sick of the taste… don’t knock it 🙂

    bean

    April 10, 2009 at 00.31

  2. I prefer Butler’s to the biscuits that Diva made/makes (no longer in Obs, now in Buitenkant, next to Perseverance Tavern). I’m not saying Butler’s is the alpha and omega of pizza, but they’re certainly better than Diva’s pizza. OK, Diva’s thing with the marinaded brinjal is good, but the base is like biscuit.

    In the good old days, St Elmo’s could be counted on for a thin, blistery base from a hot, woodfired oven, but their bases are also now biscuity; and twice having ordered extra thin, a pizza with base of 5+mm arrives. They also skimp on the tomato sauce, so the pizza is bland as sliced white. No more St. Elmo’s for me.

    Scooter’s? No thanks. Overcooked, cheese goes brown and crispy. Yes, you want some crisp on bits of cheese, but you don’t want a giant piece of dark brown cheese hard as a frisbee.

    Good place for thin, blistered base is Bella Italia in Vredehoek, although, they could get their oven hotter. What is it that people don’t understand about pizzas and hot ovens? Very hot. You want the base to cook fast and crisp, and you want the base to cook through and fast because it has moist ingredients all over it. Nothing as disappointing as a pizza with crispy edges but all soggy otherwise. So, keep those ovens hot!

    Haven’t been to Colcaccio for some time, but there’s something about nouvelle pizza that makes me gag; if I wanted steak I would go to Hussar Grill.

    Massimo’s Pizza Club in Hout Bay is getting very good press – and the pictures look good, but, eish, when do I get to Hout Bay? http://www.pizzaclub.co.za/Html/menu.html

    I’ve never been a fan of the Chicago deep-dish pie. I once tried pizza at some famous place in NYC – I think it was Joe’s. Bland sauce, bland canned olives. Meh. Unfortunatley, Sal’s had been burned down in a riot 6 years before.

    But do try Papa John’s and ask for an extra jalapeno on the side. Best pizza in the states: http://www.papajohns.com/index.shtm

    Anyhoo, going to Umbria in August. The Umbrian pizza seems to be quite bready – thick base. Although, there surely will be restaurants that serve the Neapolitan version, so maybe I’ll get to try one of those rectangular jobbies. Won’t ask for extra moosarella an’ shit, though…

    Rustum

    April 10, 2009 at 12.09

  3. Fair enough, Bean!

    Trinny

    April 11, 2009 at 11.09

  4. And Rustum, thanks for your round up of pizzas in Cape Town (and the world). I have always had a soft spot for the brinjal at Diva, despite biscuit base, but is no longer the same now it’s moved from Obscurvitory.

    Have yet to find decent pizza in Dubai 😦 Although right now I’m in Cyprus, so it’s less about pizza and more about seafood and olives…

    Trinny

    April 11, 2009 at 11.12

  5. […] a comment » Had a disappointing response to my offer of free pizza. But Rustum´s thoughtful analysis of the state of Cape Town pizzerias is a deserving winner, even […]

  6. Try the margherita at Oblivion – i kid you not – in Claremont/Clareinch. Woodfired, thin base, good cheese, good sauce, and they lay fresh – note, fresh – tomato slices on top to give a plain margie a lovely, sweet taste. Best margherita ever.

    Simon Saturn

    April 20, 2009 at 22.25

  7. Thanks for the heads up Si – I´ll sample the margherita at Oblivion next time I´m home… Maybe if you´re nice to Rustum he´ll share his Butler´s with you, but I´m sure it won´t quite measure up.

    Btw, what´s with the “Simon Saturn”?

    Trinny

    April 21, 2009 at 22.29


Leave a Reply

