Trinny in Jozi

Grammar rant of the week

with 4 comments

Courtesy of my friend Early bird:

I don’t know about you but I absolutely can’t stand how “amount” gets used for everything these days: amount of time, amount of spoons, amount of women called Mrs Zuma, amount of Zim dollars down the drain, amount of tiredness one can feel, amount of energy lost fighting men who urinate in the street (Do they chop off their willies there? In that case, I’m on my way); amount of people who think watching a DVD in the dark is the thing to do during Earth Hour; amount of people upset about SA not letting the Dalai Lama in; the amount of times I have to go and shut the dog up.

Is there a large amount of phrases you dislike intensely?

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Didn’t know it until right now but I have a huge dislike for ‘the amount of people who think watching a DVD in the dark is the thing to do during earth hour’… Who ARE these people? *sigh*

    I also have a mounting dislike for the amount of digging that needs doing in my garden, the amount of time I have been away from Hendy and the amount of bloody time it’s taking to find a new job… okay, so I’m off my soapbox now. I feel better… ­čÖé x

    Sarah

    March 30, 2009 at 22.42

  2. I was going to go off on a tangent and have a grammar rant, but then I realized my pet peeves didn’t amount to much. – Cheers!

    rockinon

    March 31, 2009 at 01.41

  3. Thanks Sarah! I hope you find any amount of new jobs soon ­čśë And glad to provide you with a place to vent! xxx Trinny

    Trinny

    April 2, 2009 at 21.15

  4. Hey Rockinon, was that serious, or sarcastic? And curious as to how you stumbled upon my blog…? T

    Trinny

    April 2, 2009 at 21.16


Leave a Reply

