Trinny in Jozi

Healthy challenge, day XIV

with 7 comments

So, ja, although I´ve skipped posting for a few days, I haven´t skimped on my resolve, and am on day 14 of not smoking. Turns out my stomach cramps were totally from quitting, but am feeling loads better now. Previously, I was toying with the idea of giving up for a month, and then reverting to my original plan (that is, smoke as much as I possibly can before I turn 30, and then give up again). However, there is *no way* I am going through all the pain again, so going to try push through with giving up the smokes for good… 

And otherwise? Well, Tom & Jerry and I went for “one drink” after work Thursday, which turned into many more, so not doing quite as well on the temperance programme as I´d like. That said, I didn´t smoke while I was drinking, which is something…

And back at pilates/yoga again after my absence last week. The former yesterday and the latter today. Although I have a very lovely pilates instructor, I am finding that I much prefer yoga. For some bizarre reason, I keep wanting to fall asleep during pilates! Off to bed now then, and will keep you updated tomorrow…

Yoga phrase of the day: This is really good for your reproductive organs. 
Serendipity of the day: Making a new friend at yoga. 
Achievement of the day: Back on the wagon.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. AWESOME! keep up the good work! Here are some other tips that may help –
    – Drink LOTs of water! This helps to flush the toxins out of your system.
    – If you can, start the morning with a cup of warm water with the juice of 1/2 lemon squeezed in (this helps jumpstart your liver)
    – Increase the Omega 3 fatty acids in you diet (cold water fish, flaxseed) and decrease the amount of hydrogenated oils and transfat.
    – drink 2-3 cups of greem tea daily
    – increase your intake of B vitamins

    Good luck to you – you’ll be happy you did this!

    nko

    Norma Kayte O'Dell, NTP

    March 23, 2009 at 00.05

  2. Yay, well done on still not smoking! That’s fabulous! Interesting re. yoga – just wanted to say that the twice (I think? maybe only once…) I went to pilates I found it quite weirdly ‘back to front’ to yoga – well, particularly the breathing. So can imagine it might be confusing to start both at the same time? Have a great week! x

    Ester

    March 23, 2009 at 13.31

  3. Thanks Norma!

    Trinny

    March 23, 2009 at 22.50

  4. Thanks Ester… Ja, I am finding the breathing in Pilates a little tricky. You have a great week too!

    Trinny

    March 23, 2009 at 22.53

  5. […] Thursday is the weekend in this part of the world, and that I have exercised for the last five days in a row, I think a little slackitude is allowed… Back to yoga tomorrow […]

  6. I have also fallen asleep in every yoga class I’ve ever been to :S

    Congrats on your fabulous resolve in not smoking! Just keep going – it will be the best thing you’ve ever done. I don’t think I’d smoke again if you paid me.

    M-Squeeze

    March 27, 2009 at 13.14

  7. Well, I have a long way to go before I catch up with your sterling resolve!

    Trinny

    March 27, 2009 at 13.17


Leave a Reply

