Trinny in Jozi

Healthy challenge, day X

with 6 comments

Today hasn´t been great. I went to the doctor, but he was pretty rubbish. The nurse took my blood pressure, but the doctor didn´t do anything, apart from sit on the other side of the desk and listen to me attempt to explain how I was feeling. Now, I am the kind of person who will complain that my toe is hurting, when it turns out I have an ear infection. So I really have very little confidence that he actually made anything approaching a correct diagnosis, considering he didn´t examine me in any way. 

The doctor just seemed to feel that quitting smoking was resulting in my sore stomach (for which he gave me Buscopan), nausea (for which he gave me Motilium), and faintness (for which he gave me Betaserc). Whatever, all of this medication just treats symptoms, rather than the cause, which makes me uncomfortable. Also, it didn´t even treat the symptoms properly, cos felt really bad in the afternoon (after lunch and pills), so went home early again. Which did not help my stress levels, as we´re going to print next week…

Also, am very annoyed that I´m not up to yoga. I hope I´m better soon so I can actually start to be proactive about healthy living, instead of reactive about how ill I´m feeling. Oh well, Shennie Pie just told me that the hopsital I went to (you seem to have to go to the hospitals here to see a doctor, crazy?!), which is near my work, is like the worst one in Dubai. So I guess I´ll go to another doctor on the weekend if I´m still feeling weird. 

Symptom of the day: Feeling spaced out, which is an official symptom of quitting smoking.
Theory of the day:  May just have some general bug that´s going around, as the Editor has been off sick with nausea for a couple of days.
Feelings the day:  Frustration.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. dude you totally didnt smoke enough to have all these symptoms – did you?!
    get thee into bed and forget about the yoga nonsense – i am the biggest yoga freak on the planet and will miss a class for a bit of hayfever!
    you will feel better in a few days. promise!
    x

    Ponkleberry

    March 18, 2009 at 23.25

  2. Hi T,
    I quit smoking last week Tuesday (10 March) and have been feeling awful since Sunday. I’m dizzy, nauseous, spaced-out, dry mouth, the works. I went to donate blood yesterday and was told my iron level and bp was way to low for them to drain me. Went to the physio today and was also again told that it could all be as a result of detoxing from quitting smoking! I was not prepared for this feeling! Can’t wait for it to be over.
    So, welcome to the club. I’m sure we’ll feel great once all the toxins from years of smoking has left our bodies!

    Estelle

    March 19, 2009 at 02.10

  3. Hello, Ponkleberry! Well, I was smoking a box a day, which I think is plenty… I am feeling loads better, so thank you for your wishes 😉

    Trinny

    March 21, 2009 at 19.04

  4. Hi Estelle – it took me until Thursday to feel better, so hope you are also recovered! Keep in touch re. your progress…

    Trinny

    March 21, 2009 at 19.07

  5. You bad girl! You didn’t tell me you were up to a pack a day! I always smoked in shame in front of you, thinking you were one of those vile controlled smokers who are satisfied by two a day.

    oh, this makes me feel better.

    M-Squeeze

    March 27, 2009 at 13.07

  6. But surely you realised when we went out drinking? Or when I came and visited and was constantly popping outside! Or when we went out to theatre, and I was desperate for a fag in the interval?!

    Trinny

    March 27, 2009 at 13.16


Leave a Reply

