Trinny in Jozi

Healthy challenge, day VIII

with 3 comments

So much for being healthy – spent most of today in bed, after lasting only a couple of hours at work. My stomach was really sore: it felt like incredibly bad period pain. And I felt faint and a little nauseous. 

I suspect this state of affairs has much to do with my over-enthusiastic adoption of bikram yoga. It could be unrelated, but I doubt it. I think that my body is just in shock: so much exercise in so little time after years of inertia. Although the stomach pain does feel more like just having a sore stomach than anything muscular, so I may be wrong.

My other theory is that I have a sore stomach because the character in the book I was reading last night had appendicitis. I´d say I´m a prime candidate for a psychosomatic manifestation. (Overactive imagination + not always understanding the signals my body is giving me.)

Anyway, going to give myself a bit of a break, so no yoga today, and have cancelled my second private pilates lesson tomorrow. I may go to yoga instead, but only if I´m feeling up to it… And in case anyone´s worried, I will go to the doctor tomorrow if I´m still feeling weird.

Update: Just heard from two of my friends that they became very sick after quitting smoking. So maybe that´s it? Definitely an excuse to allow myself to cut down gradually rather than go cold turkey, but 1) I´m an all or nothing kinda gal, and 2) I don´t even feel like a cigarette right now. 

Encouragement of the day: Kind words re. quitting smoking from Tony J, after I commented on his blog
Drink of the day: Lots of water! 
Perk of the day: Extended afternoon nap.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Im pretty sure the rapid detox and intense change of routine has resulted in this yukness. Don’t let it discourage you. Other symptoms can include sore legs, nausea and longer life.

    xxxx

    Bean

    March 17, 2009 at 00.23

  2. Thanks Bean 😉 Am keeping up with the non-smoking… And will return to yoga once my body is up to it!

    Trinny

    March 17, 2009 at 18.38

  3. […] Another decent blogger added an interesting post today on Healthy challenge, day VIII Trinny in DubaiHere’s a small readingTagged with afternoon naps, all or nothing, appendicitis, bikram yoga, body, books, cigarettes, cold turkey, day VII, exercise, health, imagination, period pain, pilates, pychosomatic, quitting smoking, sore stomach, Spag Blog, water … […]


Leave a Reply

