Trinny in Jozi

Healthy challenge, day I

with 10 comments

12.23 pm on 9.3. 2009 

Does that sound like an auspicious time and date to you? It doesn´t, particularly, to me but, in the tradition of Zeno, it marks the occasion of my “last cigarette” – for a  month at least.

Why quit now, rather than when I´m 30, as has long been my intention? Well, I´m participating in a health and fitness feature for one of my company´s magazines. Hopefully, the prospect of a bollocking from my friends and colleagues if I let them, and myself, down will keep me motivated (haha). Not only am I not smoking for four weeks, but I´m also not drinking; eating healthily; and attempting some sort of exercise regime.

“Oh, you mean you´re changing your personality!” quipped one friend on gchat. Indeed, I am. Hell, I´ve already changed my name this year. Changing my lifestyle as well shouldn´t be too much of a problem. (Okay, maybe
I´m lying. Or thinking wishfully.)

Whatever, I´m going to give it a go. Sorting out exercise at a yoga/pilates studio from tomorrow – just waiting for them to return my call. But went swimming this evening. And didn´t eat any carbs. Neither did I smoke any cigarettes, nor drink any alcohol, even though my house guest indulged in both these past times.

Verdict of the day: Am generally happy with the start of  my campaign, although I did drink too much tea and coffee.
Premonition of the day: This is not going to get any easier.
Question of the day: Is popcorn a carbohydrate? ( I suspect it is, but I might eat some anyway. There´s only so much a girl can deny herself!)

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m very happy for you! you will look even more fantastic, if that’s possible.
    Don’t worry about popcorn, indulge yourself. But keep yourself on that exercise regime. I promise you will start seeing the results in no time.
    All the best!

    Sergio

    March 9, 2009 at 21.17

  2. Will I also have be subjected to the diet?
    or will I be subjected to the constant PMS state that you will be in with no ciggi

    not that I am advocating smoking and I want you to do very well on your programme-just checking how this will impact on your housemates for the next two weeks

    shehnaz

    March 9, 2009 at 21.31

  3. Popcorn is a carb, but it ranks alongside biltong as one of the healthier snacks.

    (And biltong is a protein.)

    Good luck lovely! YOOOOU CAN DOOOO IIIIIT!

    And: non-smoking is the bomb. Seriously. You’ll love it.

    M-Squeeze

    March 10, 2009 at 12.45

  4. And last words from a proudly sanctimonious ex-smoker and loser of 25kg:

    If you start feeling like you’re going potty, good cheats are:

    1. heat up fat-free milk if your tea / coffee tastes watery. it tastes creamier and sweeter.
    2. a great comfort drink is cocoa made with nutmeg, cinnamon & fat-free milk. chamomile rooibos is very soothing for jangled nerves that are missing their booze.
    3. if you’re craving something sweet, raisins are good. Alternatively, slice an apple into seri-aasly thin chips, sprinkle on cinnamon, and bake in the oven until the natural sugars caramelise and the whole business turns into sweet, crispy apple chips. VERY tasty.

    M-Squeeze

    March 10, 2009 at 12.55

  5. Good luck Tea!! (I’m sticking with Tea even if you’re meant to be Trinny). Totally totally worth it even if the next month or so isn’t going to be fun.

    Ester

    March 10, 2009 at 15.53

  6. To Sergio: thank you, my darling 😉 Starting bikram yoga tomorrow – you will see the results when I pop over in May!

    Trinny

    March 10, 2009 at 23.16

  7. Shennie: am in a surprisingly okay mood. Hopefully once I start yoga, it´ll also help endorphins kick in.

    And you will not be subjected to diet. Actually, am not sure what diet is yet. We can work it out together…

    Trinny

    March 10, 2009 at 23.19

  8. For Squeeze: Thanks for all the advice. Suspect I may be hitting the rooibos soon. I am still doing the not smoking. Not yet loving it though!

    Trinny

    March 10, 2009 at 23.21

  9. And Ester: Thanks for the well wishes 😉 Will post pic of the new me after a month!

    Trinny

    March 10, 2009 at 23.21

  10. […] Request of the day: Just because I was making fun of the gym bunnies who commented on my first healthy challenge post, it doesn´t mean I don´t want anyone to comment. I was just teasing, honest. I´m gonna need your […]


Leave a Reply

