Trinny in Jozi

Same words, different context I

with 4 comments

One of the strange things in which I take delight is how the same words and phrases can have completely different meanings depending on context.  I´m not really talking about obvious homonyms like “left” (opposite of right) and “left” (past tense of leave). More about finding examples in my own life, and making a connection for absurdity´s sake. 

For example: DPS.

When I was at varsity, if you got all your DPs (duly perfomed certificates) it meant you were allowed the privilege of writing exams.

When I first worked on magazines, I learnt that DPS stood for a double page spread

And when I taught in Liechtenstein, we used DPS to refer to one of the set texts: Dead Poet´s Society. (The book, not the film, although if I´d had any say in the syllabus I wouldn´t have chosen either.) Very glad that
I´m back in the world of double page spreads these days!

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It always makes me smile when I hear the literary/motion pictionary DPS spoken about in a hateful way. 😉

    Al-staah!

    February 18, 2009 at 00.51

  2. You are smiling because you miss me… A visit soon is compulsory!

    Trinny

    February 20, 2009 at 15.42

  3. I don’t think it would make any difference to my life whether it was a Duly Performed or a Double Page Spread, since in all likelihood I would lose both.

    M-Squeeze

    February 23, 2009 at 15.40

  4. Whatever, miss clever media ho. I suspect you´ve never lost either type of DPS!

    Trinny

    February 23, 2009 at 21.36


Leave a Reply

