Trinny in Jozi

Top five names of people I actually know…

with 17 comments

No particular priority, just the order I met people in…

1. Markus Blank.

From Obscurvitory days. Markus used to work at Carte Blanche; I used to drink there. Always thought it would be a great name for a character in a postmodern novel.

2. Larry McGuinness.

Larry was my housemate in Cape Town. Seems quintessentially Irish, although he´s not.

3. Bart Smithers.

Kim´s boss. And that is his real his name, not kidding.

4. Krash King.

My former boss, from when I worked in Jozi. Krash King might not be his birth name, but it is his legal one. Watch this space for the next time he changes it.

5. Thomas Shambler

Works for the same company I do in Dubai. Affectionately known as “shambles”. I feel his name also has novel potential. 

What are some of your favourite names, like of actual people? Have realised my list is shamefully unrepresentative, so would love it if you could add some diversity via the comments box!

Written by Trinny

February 13, 2009 at 17.00

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i’ve always quite liked my name. comninos.
    descendant of Byzantium empire. like how awesome is that.

    nikki

    February 13, 2009 at 17.19

  2. You do have an awesome name dude! I fear I may have been somewhat hasty in composing my list, perhaps I should expand it to a Top Ten?!

    Trinny

    February 13, 2009 at 17.21

  3. Trinny your [full] name could also work in a novel. It sounds like the name of someone heading a powerful publishing company, or the name of a successful literary agent.

    Rustum

    February 13, 2009 at 17.25

  4. Actually, Rustum, consider Bart bumped off the list, because his name is only funny by association, and your (full) name should totally be there! Has a very distinguished tone to it, suitable to an award-winning poet.

    Perhaps I should just *become* a successful literary agent, and then my name could feature in my autobiography?

    Trinny

    February 13, 2009 at 18.05

  5. While on a bus from Ilha to Nampula in Mocambique I met a guy named Diamantinho… So cool, especially as Diamant in german means diamond.

    I guess the next Brazilian soccer star will adopt this name… or Goldinho, Platinho…

    dennis

    February 13, 2009 at 18.13

  6. Diamantinho, that rocks!

    Trinny

    February 13, 2009 at 18.16

  7. I like my last name, only because it’s simple and no one can pronounce it (Quackenbush-as it looks) and Disney’s ripped it off for years.

    I did date a guy named Xavier Priest, and was only funny because he was an ex-priest.

    SewDucky

    February 13, 2009 at 18.49

  8. Xavier Priest, that’s so cool! I must confess I’ve always been partial to the name Xavier…

    Trinny

    February 14, 2009 at 18.54

  9. What about Xavier Mangaliso?

    Rustum

    February 15, 2009 at 21.22

  10. What does Mangaliso mean, besides being Robert Sobukwe´s middle name? Okay, just googled some more, and says it means “the amazing one”. I think it´s a fantastic name. Back in the day my imaginary boyfriend was called Xavier. And I think it would be cool if he were Xavier Mangaliso!

    Trinny

    February 15, 2009 at 21.26

  11. Duh, Natpumi, of course!

    Nat 'n Natpumi

    February 17, 2009 at 16.10

  12. But of course! Although I did coin that one myself, so seemed unfair to include on the list 😉

    Trinny

    February 17, 2009 at 19.43

  13. Remember Roald Dahl’s cabinmate, U.N. Savory? Who used to put epsom salts on his shoulders to pretend he had dandruff in case anyone figured out he was bald?

    I also had a pigeon-chested singing teacher called Mrs Singer.

    And my cousin, whose surname is Driver, was going to be called Laurie before her parents woke up and realised what they were about to do.

    But my all-time favourite name of anything is the funeral company Human & Pitt. I love it even more than Savage & Lovemore.

    M-Squeeze

    February 20, 2009 at 12.22

  14. Cool examples… Laurie Driver, haha. Is that Aurelia?

    Trinny

    February 20, 2009 at 15.41

  15. Xavier Mangaliso is a friend’s boy. I’ve had a pic of him as profile up on Vuisboek, and everyone thought it was my child. Surname Bowker, or Wright-Bowker. That’s quite a name: Xavier Mangaliso Wright-Bowker. But I think that if he is going to succeed as a forward or midfielder, I think he should just be Xavier Mangaliso Bowker.

    Rustum

    February 23, 2009 at 21.00

  16. What about Xavier Mangaliso “Diamantinho” Bowker?

    Trinny

    February 23, 2009 at 21.34

  17. Living in Asia has brought to light a number of cross-language mishaps: Goh Shi Ting or Lamb Chee Kin. A male colleague is called Faith which took quite a bit of getting used to!

    Kim

    September 18, 2009 at 12.56


Leave a Reply

