Trinny in Jozi

IHateExclusiveBooks.com

with 6 comments

I have never especially liked Exclusive Books but have had a particular vendetta against them ever since one of their employees in the Cape Town International Airport store spied on my pin number, neglected to give me my debit card back, and stole R3 000 from my account back in December 2006.

The manager of the store where the unfortunate incident occurred went out of his way to help me resolve the matter but the general manager of Exclusive Books, a certain Mr Short, who was certainly short of PR skills, went out of his way to disabuse me of my naive notion that I had any claim against the store. If only I’d been more in tune with the zeitgeist, I’m sure IHateExclusiveBooks.com would be a globally recognised website today!

Anyway, ever since then I have refused to shop at Exclusive Books, breaking this boycott only in the case of one or two, (okay, perhaps 17!) extreme reading material emergencies…

But now I have a new bone to pick with them. Exclusive Books in Sandton City is refusing to stock copies of the Derby Day book. Now, I may or may not have a close friend who was involved in producing said book but that is entirely beside the point…

I mean, hell, I’m not gonna buy a copy of Derby Day for myself. Schoolboy rugby has never interested in me; schoolboy waterpolo – now there’s a different matter! But my family did buy a copy for Nim, and another for a friend of his, because the book really is a brilliant concept for anyone who cares. And one would think that a store that stands to sell at least a couple of hundred copies during the Christmas season would indeed care enough to stock it!

Thus my enquiry when I went to Exclusive Books in Sandton City last week:
T: “Do you have a copy of Derby Day? I couldn’t see it on the shelves…” 
Shop assistant #1: “I’m not sure. Let me check on the computer.”
Shop assistant #2: “Computer says no.”
(Actually, she didn’t say that, which at least would’ve introduced some humour into the situation. What she she said was: “No, we don’t. They have it at Hyde Park.”) 
T: “Oh, that’s a pity. I really wanted to buy it for my little brother for Christmas, like right now. I can’t believe you don’t stock it! I guess I’ll have to go all the way to Hyde Park.”

I am sure that all my readers, or at least the ones who live in South Africa, also have many brothers, uncles and cousins who would like Derby Day for a Christmas present. If you can´t get the frigging book at Sandton City, where can you? Of course, it would be best to buy it direct from this link.

But if you really want to piss off Exclusive Book Sandton City, you can always go there in person and ask for a copy. If you´re not from Jozi, but still want to participate in this worthy cause, you can look up their phone number, which is in the link to the store above, and give them a call. Let´s get that book on the shelf by next week!

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I hope N doesn’t read your blog, otherwise you just totally screwed up his surprise 🙂

    M-Squeeze

    December 5, 2008 at 12.36

  2. I suspect he doesn’t, the silly little potato… But anyway, Mim bought him Derby Day ages ago, I was just saying I wanted to buy him a copy for Christmas to make a point to Exclusive Books.

    trinklebean

    December 5, 2008 at 13.42

  3. Morning…

    Please note – Shortt with two t’s. Would not want to confuse anyone out there.

    Regards

    Rob

    rob shortt

    January 6, 2009 at 04.54

    • Thanks for the correction; I will update the post immediately.

      trinklebean

      January 7, 2009 at 15.48

  4. Ever tried shopping online? One can have just as much fun, and no getting chased around from shopping centre to centre..store to store..Also if shopping with trusted site, there will be no pin stealing from staff..PS:nice post..

    Brett

    March 5, 2009 at 12.58

  5. Yeah, but shopping online doesn´t satisfy in terms of the instant gratification of an impulse buy 😉

    Trinny

    March 6, 2009 at 23.23


Leave a Reply

