Trinny in Jozi

House of cardboard

with 3 comments

For weeks my friend Eszter had been telling me about the cardboard house the architecture students were designing to be used as a workshop. Cardboard as a building material? Coming from South Africa, it didn´t seem that far out.

But there necessity, rather than choice, dictates its use. And since Liechtenstein is far from impoverished, I was somewhat perplexed as to what the architecture school was up to. Try as I might, I couldn´t imagine any construction other than the most ramshackle affair.

But I went along to the grand opening; and it was curiosity rather than the free wine, which dried up regrettably soon, that motivated me. Suddenly, there it was, stood before me: an igloo palace of cardbord and (de)light; the epitome of functional grace. And the only poverty was that of my imagination.

Written by Trinny

February 6, 2008 at 10.44

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Btw, Eszter isn´t in this photo. You´ll meet her later. The pretty blonde is my friend Kay. And behind my head you can glimpse Daniel in Vaduz.

    TM

    February 7, 2008 at 00.37

  2. Wonderful!

    Marelise

    February 7, 2008 at 08.47

  3. Thanks!

    TM

    February 7, 2008 at 11.02


Leave a Reply

