Trinny in Jozi

Wherefore art thou, Megageth?

with 5 comments

Little over a month ago, I finally bought myself a laptop – long overdue, as anyone who knew my prehistoric desktop with its manky keyboard can attest to. I made this purchase in Chur at the Media Markt, which made me feel as if I were an extra in The Simpsons.

Buying a computer in a foreign language isn´t easy. And if you´re a Luddite like me, buying a computer is never easy, even in your mother tongue. Oh, why did I not follow through with my original plan of asking Megageth to help me before I left South Africa?

Somehow managed to choose a model that didn´t break the bank, although I think it might break my back carrying it around. Credit card cameras are so 20th century – what I really want is a credit card computer. But you can´t quite get those yet, at least not within my price range… So am now the proud owner of a shiny new Toshiba Satellite L40-12X.

As the sales assistant quickly discovered, my decision was primarily based upon the fact that the laptop was “cheap”. But 20 minutes of negotiation wasn´t enough for him to grasp the contradictions of my personality, even though his English was decent.

When it came to choosing a laptop bag, he had his priorities all wrong. “This one is very cheap!” he beamed, pointing at a particularly nasty speciman. I defiantly chose a Samsonite case, which was far from cheap. Style over substance, baby!

When I got home, I managed to switch on computer; install Windows Vista (“Are you sure you want the English version?” Bill Gates asked me. “Yes!” I clicked, with some irritation); connect to the internet; download Firefox; download Adobe; download iTunes (“Will you sell your soul to Apple?” Steve Job asked me. “Yes!” I clicked, “Now where is my free MacBook Pro?); and download AVG – all by myself. Sorted, and not such a Luddite after all. I still have to buy a copy of Word though – it sucks not being a student.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. is avg the anti virus i need it!? and adobe – as in acrobat? i need it!

    CM

    November 5, 2007 at 14.14

  2. You can download both of them free from the Internet 😉

    TM

    November 5, 2007 at 15.38

  3. Toshiba satellite owners unite!

    Vendetta

    November 9, 2007 at 14.30

  4. Yay! How much did yours cost, btw? Is it the same model?

    TM

    November 9, 2007 at 14.34

  5. […] a comment » Have finally ditched my clunkety junkety Toshiba laptop, or rather, it hasn’t been ditched so much as downgraded to desktop status, which is all it […]


Leave a Reply

