Trinny in Jozi

Metaphorical flowers

with 2 comments

“Danke für die blumen,” was one of the phrases I learnt in my first German class; not too different from the Afrikaans.

A pretty phrase, and pretty useless. I resigned myself to sitting around waiting for someone to give me flowers so I could add it to my active vocabulary

Until H explained to me that it also means “Thank you for the compliment”. A pretty and useful idiom after all.

Written by Trinny

September 27, 2007 at 11.22

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] “Danke für die Blumen,” I said, proud of both my cooking ability, and beginner German. […]

  2. […] is blatantly fishing for compliments about her new look. T: Do you notice anything different about me since this morning? Extended […]


Leave a Reply

